Georgia Institute of Technology

2009-2010 Annual Report

Faculty Status and Grievance Committee


October 14, 2010, 3-5:00 p.m., Student Center Theater

General Faculty Assembly and Academic Senate (Fall Meeting of the General Faculty)

Members: Carol Colatrella (LCC), Cheryl Leggon (PubP), John McIntyre (CoM), G. Paul Neitzel (ME), R. Gary Parker (ISyE), Dana Randall (CoC), Marion Usselman (CEISMC), Leanne West (GTRI)

Meetings: Matters addressed by the FSGC in academic year 2009-2010 included two dismissal cases forwarded to the Committee by the Administration and two grievances. †††Pursuant to requirements stipulated in Section 5.10.2 of the Faculty Handbook and following an appropriate informal inquiry, the Committee recommended that the Administrationís action for the dismissal cases be allowed to proceed.† Regarding the aforementioned grievances, both were filed by members of the General Faculty.† Informal investigations are being concluded in both cases but at this time, nothing more conclusive can be reported.† Finally, the Committee also proposed modifications to language expressed in Section 14.3.3 and Sections 23.2, 23.3, and 23.5 of the Handbook.† Section 14.3 refers to the composition of formal hearing committees in cases involving academic faculty status while Sections 23.2-3 and 5 pertains to proceedings related to outcomes from Faculty PPR.† In both cases, the proposed modifications were forwarded to the Statutes Committee for consideration. †R. Gary Parker served as Chair of the Committee.†